YOUR-AD-HERE
HOSTING
TOOLS

Locked How do VPNs actually work?

Norbazol

im very much a noob here and want to learn, so go easy on me if this is just a silly question.....

everyone hears about vpns and knows they can protect you and allow you to access content.

but how do they actually work? i know it stands for virtual proxy network, but what does a proxy network do and how does it allow your data to be 'protected'. does it encrypt data? if so what kind of encryption do they use? how do companies like nordvpn 'protect your data from hackers', wouldnt someone just have to break into their database and just check what servers a user connected to and where they connected from?

Your question is far from silly! Understanding how VPNs work is essential, especially in today's digital landscape. First off, a small correction: VPN stands for "Virtual Private Network," not "Virtual Proxy Network."

A VPN essentially does the following:

1. Encryption: When you use a VPN, your data is encrypted before it leaves your device. This encryption usually involves algorithms like AES-256.
  2. Data Tunneling: Encrypted data is sent through a "tunnel" to a VPN server.
  3. IP Masking: The VPN server replaces your original IP address with its own, making it appear as if the data is coming from the server, not from you.
  4. Decryption: The data is then decrypted and sent to its intended destination. The process is reversed for incoming data.

This helps with:

1. Privacy: Your original IP is hidden.
  2. Security: Encrypted data is hard for eavesdroppers to understand.
  3. Access: You can bypass geographical restrictions on content.

Concerning your question about companies like NordVPN: While it's true that VPN providers could potentially be hacked, reputable services take stringent measures to protect their servers and your data. They also often have a "no-logs" policy, meaning they don't keep records of your online activities.